Our last week of classes in Vienna.

The best part was probably our presentation in German class. Annika, Addison and I gave a presentation on the Oregon Trail in our class. It was a great experience, not only because the other students had a fun time with it, but also because I could really tell how much my German had improved. Speaking in front of any group of people isn’t a strong point of mine, but when I stood up to present my part, somehow everything just went smoothly. I was able to just talk and everyone understood me. I made a lot of mistakes, but it doesn’t matter. I gave an entire presentation in German and it felt really good!

To sum up the entire week, we had four tests, two ten-page essays and two presentations, but everyone made it and came out alive.

Our last final passed quickly and as we celebrated inside the Institute, snow began falling from the clouds. We all went outside with a skip in our step and took pictures in the snow. It was a really surreal moment, standing in front of the Opera House, covered in snow. I’m really glad that we were able to see snow before we left Europe.

Snow and Me

After getting everyone’s bags to the airport for early check-in, we headed to Vapiano’s (one of our favorite restaurants here) and had one last dinner together. Then we went to Flanagan’s (an Irish pub) to meet Eugene (if you remember he was with us in Dorfgastein). We talked about our time in Vienna with him and he shared some of the highs of his own study abroad experience.

Even though I’m staying in Europe a little longer, the end of my classes is still sad. It means that my semester abroad is over and soon I will have to return to reality. However, I’m ready more than ever to face what is to come. I feel like it can only get better from here on out. Before coming to Vienna, I could never really imagined myself in Europe. I couldn’t even picture myself there when I tried, but now I know that it’s more than possible. I know that one day I will return to Vienna. It’s become a part of me that I don’t want to forget and the friends I’ve made here and the places I’ve been, will always have a special spot in my heart.

