I recently took a trip to Park City, Utah and was completely blown away by the beauty of the mountains. It was an amazing place and it has such a diverse landscape! It was shocking to land near Salt Lake City and see the multi-colored lake below and then see the towering Wasatch mountain range above.

Although Park City is best know for the 2002 Winter Olympics and great skiing, I actually didn’t make it out onto the slopes all that much, but that was ok. There was a lot more to do than just ski. In fact, I spent most of my time taking pictures.

 

EDIT: 4/25/12

More on the photos taken:

Most of the photos are ones that I took while in a hot air balloon. It was amazing to be so high up in the air and not really have anything surrounding me. The air was completely still and it was actually warmer up in the sky than on the ground. It was one of the best experiences of my life and I really can’t wait to go back up someday.

You can see some more photos of my family and I taking off in the balloon on the Facebook page for the company Morning Star Balloons. If you are planning to go to Park City I would highly recommend them.

However, there was a lot to do on the ground too. Another highlight of the vacation was getting to see all the old mines. There were a ton of very cool looking mines up on the ski slopes. Most of them were falling apart and unsafe, but it was fun to ski past them and think about what was once there.  The old mines fascinate me, because I can’t even begin to imagine what it would have been like to work miles and miles below the earth. One of the pictures I took is of a closed mine alongside one of the main roads in Park City.  I wish I could have taken more photos of the mines up on the ski slopes, but that just gives me an excuse to go back!

